Rogers Communications has extended its 5G network to ten additional communities in Eastern Ontario as part of a CAD300 million (USD234 million) partnership with the Eastern Ontario Regional Network (EORN), the Government of Canada and the Province of Ontario to bridge the digital divide and bring reliable cellular connectivity across the region. The latest communities covered are: Elizabethtown-Kitley, Petawawa, Greater Napanee, Russell, Hawkesbury, Selwyn, Mississippi Mills, South Glengarry, Pembroke and South Stormont. Earlier this year, Rogers lit 5G in eight communities as part of this partnership. When the project is complete, Rogers will deliver mobile connectivity to 113 municipalities and Indigenous communities, building more than 300 new cellular towers and upgrading over 300 pre-existing sites through the partnership.

Since January 2020, Rogers has enhanced its mobile networks across more than 200 Ontario communities; at the same time, Rogers has delivered fixed broadband network upgrades to nearly 100 communities across the province. Rogers recently announced it is investing CAD140 million to expand fibre-to-the home (FTTH) technology in Eastern Ontario, servicing more than 20,000 homes and businesses in Quinte West, Belleville and Prince Edward County.

Original article can be seen at: